Skip to content

I am a Thief

October 10, 2008

I have a friend who has sailed around the world. I have a friend who is an amzing musician. I have a few of those, actually. I have friends who create the best, most innovative running shoes, basketball shoes, football cleats, soccer cleats, and snowboards in the world. I have a friend who is an Irish priest whom I would nominate for the Nobel Peace Prize if I could (and who also presided over the weddings of my 3 siblings as well as my own – that time while wearing a Jamaican Red Stripe t-shirt underneath his white, transparent robe). I have a friend who runs the camera for major motion pictures, shooting the likes of Robert DeNiro and Mel Gibson. I have a friend who might just be governor of Vermont one day. I have a friend who works closely with Landon Donovan and other members of the US soccer team. I have a friend who runs his own capital investment funds company. I have a friend who is a professional artist. I have a friend who owns a car dealership. I have a friend who makes the best coffee in the country. I have a friend who makes the most comfortable socks I’ve ever put on my feet. I have a friend who played professional hockey in Europe. I have a friend who stays home with the kids. I have a friend who knows more about wine than anyone else I’ve ever met. I have a friend who really dislikes the writing of Jack Kerouac (huh??). I have a friend who worked for the New York Yankees while wearing his Red Sox cap proudly. I have a friend who is fighting in Iraq. I have a friend who studies life in the ocean. I have a friend who is pals with Bjork. I have a friend who drinks scotch with Ewen McGregor. I have a friend who writes the lyrics for Phish (welcome back, boys!). I have a friend who brews amazing beer. I have a friend who competed in the Olympics. I have a friend who…OK, so the first problem is I don’t have a plan to end this rant. The second problem is I don’t have a point.

I suppose, I just wanted to acknowledge that I know good people who do cool things and who think differently than I do and who are motivated to succeed and who are unique, amazing, and deeply interesting people. Yes, I have friends who inspire me beyond compare every single day of my life and from whom I openly steal bits and pieces for my own puzzle. That’s the way it works for me. And then there’s family, who take it all a notch or two higher.

I guess I think it’s important to sometimes take a minute to stop and put a few certain truths out there before you go any further.

And then we move on.

One Comment leave one →
  1. japhy99 permalink
    October 13, 2008 6:26 pm

    I have a friend who’s a great writer in an old farmhouse.

Leave a Reply

