Skip to content

one moment

October 29, 2008

Tonight when I was looking through an old journal, I found a fine poem I wrote about 7 or 8 years ago. I don’t have it in front of me anymore, but I have it memorized.

Glass of Wine #1
There’s not much sadder than an empty glass of wine.
There’s not much more beautiful than an empty glass of wine.

I love that. I remember writing it and I remember looking at that empty glass of wine with a drunken sort of sad grin. The end of the glass, the end of the bottle.

Good times and bad times all wrapped up into one moment.

We built a fort tonight, strong and big, with pillows and blankets draped over furniture. We had two rooms and three entrances and we had so much fun pretending to be a family of bears. We’d go to sleep and then wake to hunt food and bring it all back to our cave and share with one another. When I turned the lights off and it was dark and we only had one flashligtht between the two kids, there was a near riot. It all ended in tears and huffs and puffs and stomps off down the hall to another room. But for a few minutes there before I cut the lights, it was pure magic. It was real, true playing with random shrieks of happiness and nowhere else we ever could possibly want to be. And then I had to make it dark. I learned my lesson.

Good times and bad times all wrapped up into one moment.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

