Skip to content

Cursed with Questions

January 21, 2009

I’ve decided that stopping to consider questions about my writing have become my ultimate excuse. I think constantly about going back into the fully-written novels and working them out, getting them to the point where I am certain that I have said all I had to say in a particular book and really putting more sincere effort into getting an agent (again) or maybe just sucking it up and self-publishing just to get it off my hands and on my shelf. I’ve now written 6 re-writes on the best one and I have spent months crafting query letters and emails to agents…with not a single bite. And so the easy thing to do is hang it up and move on. Only I am not certain that I am DONE with the book. I can’t seem to get away from it. Too many people have read it and actually liked it. If everyone had hated it, I could walk away easy. But not after so much time and effort on a book that people have told me it is worth working on. I am certain that I can make it better. But is it worth it? Maybe the story itself is only cool to me and a few other people and therefore will never sell and I’ll be doing this dance forever trying to get an agent just to read the thing. Maybe the writing is poetic and rhythmic and interesting to me only and therefore it will never sell and…well, you get it. And so I daydream about cheating on that book and starting a new one. I love the idea of writing a thriller/murder mystery and I have a pretty good idea for a story, but usually I don’t know how my books are going to end until I’m about halfway done. And I’m pretty sure I need to know how the story is going to wrap itself up if I do attempt to write a thriller. Am I right? I have no idea. I’ve never written one before. I have so many ideas. And it’s fun to have a fling with one of them, write few pages, even a few chapters maybe, but I’ve never been able to let go of my story about Altus Randolph, Denton, and Anson.

I am cursed with these questions that I spend altogether too much time thinking about instead of just working on any of the books. I know that much is true.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2009 1:44 am

    Hi duluonzo

    May be it is already ready to go. When you are doing your own writing without deadline. Therefore, you can keep working on it, so when do you know it is done?

    Giovanna Garcia
    Imperfect Action is better than No Action

  2. January 22, 2009 5:01 am

    Hi

    I think it is great that you have got so far! That is worth a big congratulations. I would say that the fact that others like it is a good sign. I would try not to give up.

    Can you keep plugging at it – contacting agents etc. – and in the meantime start with something new?

    Or, perhaps take a definite break from it and start afresh in say a month or two.

    I would encouage you to start with the thriller even if you don’t have an ending now. You may find one very soon after you start. At least it will be fun and fresh.

    I recently read a book by a first-time author, Peter Brett. It was very good – fantasy. He has a blog which you may find interesting to look around. I don’t think the book is available in the States yet. I sent him an e-mail saying I enjoyed the book and he replied. He may well be open to a few questions from you… Could be encouraging and/or useful…
    http://www.petervbrett.com

    Just some ideas.

    Juliet

Leave a Reply

