Skip to content

Laying out the Pieces

April 28, 2009

I appreciate the offer, but I don’t need self-help books and happiness gurus telling me how to arrange my life. I don’t need another blog post about how to make more money, get more followers, traffic, or ROI. I don’t need things that waste my time. Time is all we have. And our time is prescious.

What I do need and appreciate is my loving, amazing wife, my funny, beautiful kids, my other (original) family, my friends, the ability to listen to great music, time to work on my writing, Rileydog at my feet, mellow solitary runs, a glass of pinot noir with dinner, a place to keep my drums set up, the Red Sox, my paying job, access to fresh New England air, water, dirt, mountains and finding a way to maintain a glimmer of hope that I will eventually spend my days w.a.h. and b.a.p.a. (I should abbreviate sentences more, shouldn’t I? It’s cool to see WAH and BAPA at the end of a sentence.)

My priorities have changed so much in the nearly 10 years since I was 25 and yet, at the core, they really haven’t changed at all. Talk about refreshing.

Sometimes it simply takes laying all the pieces out in front of you before you can put them together the way they’re meant to fit.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. hanapalms permalink
    April 28, 2009 2:31 pm

    Your ten years ago is more like forty for me. You have your priorities in place. You might add a slot of time to your day to consciously build assets so when your ten years ago becomes forty you will feel just as fortunate as you are feeling now. Aloha

  2. duluonzo permalink*
    April 28, 2009 8:06 pm

    Thoughtful response. I appreciate the feedback and the tip. Thank you!

  3. Brother David permalink
    May 18, 2009 9:16 pm

    Uh… what’s BAPA?

Leave a Reply

