Skip to content

A dark valley

May 27, 2009

Considering paying an editor to read my book. But I really have no budget for this and it will take a long time to save up the cash. I’ve contacted a few and I love the idea, but then again…maybe I should go back to trying to find an agent with the imperfect book I have.

No experience in this, I have no idea what I’m doing. I hate this valley I’m in.

The book is done but I’m afraid to touch it – I might rip out something great or I might add something terrible. At this point in the process I am so blinded by the time and effort that I’ve already out into it that I just need to get away from it. I need to get it into someone’s hands who can give me proper feedback.  Do I save for 6 months to pay someone to tell me their opinion? Do I go back into the agent game to try and fish for an agent who might be able to do this for me? What do I do?

I’d probably pubish it on my own if I weren’t so afraid to open it on my computer and edit it myself for the 500th time.

Plus, I forgot my coffee at home today.  Left my travel mug sitting hot and full in my kitchen…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 12:19 pm

    Oh no! You had to face all this without coffee?? You need some. Stat. 😉 I don’t know a lot about this process because I’m further behind than you are–just starting my novel. I know the Writer’s Digest website has tons of info–and they’re having a conference now–posting even more. Giving the novel a little rest sounds good no matter what, though. Regardless of what you decide, you need time to congratulate yourself AND time to come back to it with fresh eyes. Good luck! Here’s one of the editor’s websites: http://cwim.blogspot.com/ and here’s WD: http://www.writersdigest.com/GeneralMenu/

  2. big brother permalink
    May 27, 2009 4:15 pm

    Dang it.

    On the coffee I mean.

    The trouble with paying for feedback is you get the input of one person on one day. The thoughts of another person, or even the same person on a different day, might be totally different. If it’s that much of an investment, it might not be worth it.

    You’d have to really vet the reader a lot to make sure they had a good track record at this. Are there other options? I found a guy who does coverage on scripts for Hollywood studios that offers to do it for anyone for like $80. For that little cash, I thought it was worth it, to get some input from someone in the industry. But if you have to save for months? Prolly not worth it.

    If I were you I’d look for connections to published authors and talk with them. Do the tradiutional queries of course, but try back door approaches, too — exploit any connection you can. That’;s the approach I’m taking anyway.

    I’m gonna email you the contact info for two friends who’ve published. Maybe they have advice…

  3. June 9, 2009 10:14 am

    With as much competition as new writers have today, any ms must be in top condition BEFORE if is sent out to agents or editors at publishing houses.

    However, even before someone gives you the go ahead to send samples, synopsis, maybe the whole deal, you must wow them with a crack query letter. Neither the query nor the synopsis are as easy to write as the novel was.

    Why not cast out with some bait that might be a little “off”? Because you won’t get even a nibble!

    At least get a critique from a professional who can tell you whether or not to invest even more money, effort, time in the agent/publisher search aspect of getting a book published. The opinions on strengths, weaknesses and repair opportunities won’t be variable, I can guarantee, unless the ms is altered between readings.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

