Skip to content

I like to rite

May 28, 2009

My parents are moving out of my childhood home next month so if I start sounding strange, just let it go. It’s kind of like a scheduled surgery to get an amputation. I mean, I’m happy for them to move out and simplify, downsize and all that. But that is the house where I first spoke to my girlfriend on the phone 16 years ago. Now she is my wife and mother to my 3 little kids. I remember the conversation clearly. That is the house where I spent hundreds of hours working on my soccer moves in the yard, playing catch with my dad, and hiking up the hill into the woods in the backyard to just explore.That is the house where I heard that Damien had died from a brain tumor just after high school graduation where we sat next to each other, where I had my first drum lesson from Gabe Jarret which lead to a life full of constant rhythm, and where I had my first full beer. That’s where I hosted the New Years Party in 1994 when we were home from our freshman year in college and it got truly wild in an amazing way – there are still fingerprints on the ceiling in the living room.

Yeah, most of my memories from childhood are based out of that house, which I still drive by everyday on my way to work even now.

Last week as they were clearing out, my parents found a stash of books I’d written as a kid – a young kid 6, 7, and 8 years old. There’s maybe 20 books & stories all together. (What a prolific writer I was!) I drew the pictures and wrote all the stories. They have been an absolute blast to find. And for the past few nights, I’ve had the joy of reading them to my 5 and 3 year olds at bedtime and re-discovering myself, the kid-version. The kids crack up and laugh at my characters, my drawings, my ideas. And then they tell me to read them again and again and then laugh about them over breakfast the next morning.

In my favorite (so far), called “My Book About Me” on page 4, there is a picture of a nice red farmhouse with a big picture window on the side. Inside the house, in the window, is a person sitting at a small desk working on something. The text below the picture says: “I like to rite.”

I’m almost 35 and doing the exact same thing in my own farmhouse right now tonight. Full circle.

(Remind me to keep my kids’ artwork and stories – not for me, but for them. Everyone should get to meet the kid-version of themselves like this when they are grown and so far removed from their original selves.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. onemeanmfa permalink
    May 28, 2009 8:56 pm

    This is such a beautiful story. I know I’m going to react badly when my parents move out of their house too.

    I totally understand.

  2. Brother David permalink
    May 29, 2009 2:00 pm

    Awesome. Can’t wait to see you and read the books in a couple weeks.

Leave a Reply

