Skip to content

Running to my own Rhythm

August 7, 2009

Am I the last person in the world who doesn’t wear an iPod when he runs?  I mean, I love music, it’s a huge part of my life – making it, listening to it, writing to it, feeling generally inspired by it, singing and dancing with my wife and kids…but when I run, when I am out on the road on my own, making my way and pushing my legs and lungs a bit futher, I generally prefer to hear my own body’s music and rhythm instead of produced music.

I’ve run with an iPod before. I agree, it’s great to hear that energetic rush of music when you’re turning the corner to see another long hill in front of you, but all too often, I’ve found myself changing my steps to match the beat or playing the air-drums while in stride which completely messes everything up. You see, I cannot listen to music without tapping my toes or playing the beat with my hands or whatever. I just can’t. It’s a natural function of me. And when I run, my goal is to work efficiently, be steady, and not use up a lot of extra energy.

So while I have begun putting in the time and miles for an October marathon, I’ve been thinking about running with headphones on and you know what I’ve figured out?  I think I get more inspiration from hearing that after an hour, my breathing is very calm and relaxed, my footsteps are on pace, my rural surroundings are in tune, and my knees are NOT cracking (too much).

So this Sunday morning, while I’m out on my long run for the week, I’ll keep the iPod at home and focus instead on listening to my body at work.  Yeah, I’ll probably have a catchy song from the Mama Mia soundtrack or a Miley Cyrus tune stuck in my head (thanks kids!) but I’ll also have the sound of my breathing, my footsteps, and my own inner voice talking me through each and every mile.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kmmyers permalink
    August 7, 2009 8:32 am

    Cool site! I have a post related to this, but from another perspective. It’s my top ten workout songs :)! I like that you see it from a different point of view though. There are times when I just want to listen to nature when I’m running or biking.

    Krista

  2. August 7, 2009 9:00 am

    since the onset of the ipod shuffle and a city in my life i’ve stuck in the headphones almost every day. i’m (was?) a similar type of purist; hearing my breath against whatever the weather is half the rush and when i think back to my favorite runs, they always mix with their surroundings. suppose i’m in concrete denial…not sure what i’ll hear. guess i’ll find out tomorrow. thanks for the post 🙂

Leave a Reply

