Skip to content

Beyond Comfort

August 12, 2009

In the middle of a hot, humid  run today, I realized my legs and arms were on auto-pilot. I was feeling neither very good nor very bad, I was just cruising along, at a jogging pace. At least I was out there running during my lunch hour, I began to tell myself. Thing is, I want to run this marathon in October, not jog it. So just being “out there” isn’t enough for me. I stepped it up a little and pushed my legs and body to go just a little bit faster. Enough to make it feel like work again. After a few hundred feet it was already uncomfortable, and I was taking shorter breaths and I felt like slowing back down to an easier, more comfortable pace. And maybe I did slow down for a moment, but when I realized I had gotten comfortable again, I leaned in and did it all over again – pushing myself to go just a bit faster, stronger, out of my comfort zone again in order to help train my muscles and bones and lungs to take the pain, process it, and roll with it. I continued to do this for the last 3 miles of the 7 mile run.

Sometime in those 3 miles, the relationship between writing and running became so obvious.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 8:48 am

    just stopped by to say that my first running coach was a highschool psych teacher and maybe i’m still running because he related it to every part of life at some point. still, running’s like that…permeating and transferable. fantastic.

    also thanks for linking to my blog (really cool), and in tribute to the longevity of your post about the ipod–i am still running ears free. meeting the sounds of my city. hearing my breath. writing poems in my head i’ll later forget. it’s been lovely–almost wilderness. 🙂

  2. August 13, 2009 2:36 pm

    Awesome, Steph! Amazing the stuff that goes on inside our heads on a long run when the music’s off. I’ve written some great stuff then too…all to be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

