Skip to content

We Write

September 1, 2009

We write because it is in our blood. In our brains. In the way we live in our world. We see pictures and descriptive words come to us, we see people and descriptive words come to us, we hear a melody and descriptive words come to us. Colors make magic which turns itself into words. Ideas become people and people become ideas. Sometimes we smile, sometimes we laugh, sometimes we want to cry but always we write and think about how it will sound on the page and think about a rhythm of words and think about needing to try much harder, much much harder to become the writer we wish to become. We will become that writer.

It’s about knowing. And confidence. There is no place in literature for trying. Only doing and making and creating and moving ever-forward in the world of words. Turn off the game and write. Put down the magazine and write. Pour another drink and write. Wake up and write. We must tell ourselves this every day.

 Our words are not new, nor are they old. Our words are right now. Right here.

 The mind of a child is blooming constantly with ideas and wondering and fascination with mysterious nature and the world and the people and the places and the bugs and the choices and the dreams and the music of a hidden treasure or a princess castle and everything else. The mind of a child is perfect and then it learns the reality of the world and grows up and the mystery and music and dreams are gone. I can’t speak for you or anyone else, but my goal is to get back there.

 We write for a thousand reasons. I write for my own peace. For there is a warm blanket of peace which covers me time and again every time I unlock the gate and just let the words flow.

 Maybe there’s magic in the world today, maybe there is nothing but sadness. Depends on the doorstep you’re standing on at the minute.  My stoop is nice this morning, a little fog off in the distance ruining the view, but some beautiful pre-school laughter right behind me keeping me grounded on this step for now. I don’t want to move. I’m going to stand right here for a while and take it all in.

 If we don’t write about this, who will?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. chadoates permalink
    September 1, 2009 1:38 pm

    Nobody will if we don’t! True enough though I just had these same thoughts about writing on Sunday when I tried to describe to my friend how I came up with ideas as a writer and how you needed to have an open, almost childlike mind to be able to come up with a good portion of good ideas, in my opinion.

  2. Lee permalink
    September 3, 2009 5:16 pm

    Yes we do, and so should you–
    keep writing, my man!

Leave a Reply

