Skip to content

Before they were Writers

October 27, 2009

If I were a kid, I’d want to be hanging out at home in my big backyard, maybe with friends, maybe alone, making up stories and wondering about things. Everyday. I’ve felt this way since I was a kid. What does that tell me?

At this point in my life, there’s just no getting around the fact that I will not be entirely content until I am a writer. Everything in my life is in line with my being fully content, except I do not spend my days writing. I mean, I am a writer now, I have written two novels, but they are both unpublished and really I am only a writer when I want to be or can be, when it is convenient – which makes me a fake. Every one has day jobs and family demands and everyone is tired at the end of the day, right? It comes in waves, but lately, there’s just no time for writing in my life and that is a growing black hole that scares me. I think about it every day. Writing seems so far away when I finally have the time to do it. 

So what do other people do? I’m truly fascinated by Writers – fiction writers in particular, who once worked real jobs, maybe even supported a family, and who are now full-time writers. How did they do it? I could relate to that if I knew your answers. I am on a never-ending quest to find this out about writers. Before they were writers, how did it all go down?

I don’t expect answers here of course (though reader comments are amazing to get). Just wanted to get this out of my head.

I am working on something now. I have sort of grand ideas about it being the start of a new novel, but I’ve been fooled by that sort of black magic enough times now to know it’s not for real until it is for real. We’ll know in a few weeks, I guess.

 An interesting and sort of related link: http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2009/mar/03/authors-on-writing

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 5:01 pm

    Great post, I can really empathise. It’s so hard to find enough time to write, yet not neglect all the other important stuff life throws at us. I try my best to spend time when I can’t write thinking about what I can write next, which helps a little. I guess even if we only find a few moments here and there to write, or at least try to write, that’s a really good start.

    Maybe I need to work on sentences that don’t include the word “write” so often!

    You have a new reader here, and thanks for stopping by my blog, I really appreciated it.

  2. duluonzo permalink*
    November 19, 2009 4:26 pm

    Thanks Steve, we’re on the same page with this for sure. I enjoyed finding your blog (as did many many others, I’m sure). Congrats.

Leave a Reply

