Skip to content

Nothing’s Changed

October 14, 2010

Nothing’s changed.

Well, some things have changed in beautifully great ways: I’ve been married now for 8 years and have three amazing kids and 6 chickens (who are not yet laying eggs!) and a dog and a cat and I’m a home-owner with a little bit of land and I’ve got a decent job and I’ve written two complete novels…and yet, I still find myself going through the same internal discussions I’ve been writing about in my own journals seriously since I was a freshman in college waaaay back in 1994.

Those daily discussions go something like this: begin a new novel, go back and keep editing the 2nd novel because it is almost good, re-combine the first two novels again and make that work as an epic book, re-write the query for the 2nd novel – the book is done, keep going on the children’s stories, write more on the new interview story, just get down 500 words today on something, begin a new novel…etc. Over and over again.

I don’t even wonder anymore if this thinking will last forever. I know that it will becuase I am a writer at heart and I always have been. 

In the meantime, today I like the idea of starting a new novel.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 10:05 pm

    i like the way you write
    easy to read, light to the heart
    🙂

Leave a Reply

