Skip to content

Opportunity…withdrawn

February 7, 2011

It seemed I finally got an opportunity. My submission was one of just 50 that would be judged by good readers and a literary agent in an online contest over at this blog for writers. Those are decent chances. I’ll take them anyday.

And then I saw that the submission requirements had changed since I first planned my submission. The rules changed mid-game. It was not for my genre anymore. But my piece was still accepted…what do I do?

Well, no matter how much I trusted my story to get some attention, no matter how badly I wanted my story to be reviewed by an agent, what I didn’t want was to break the rules and be THAT GUY. So I gave permission to have mine replaced by someone’s who’s was in the right genre. I gave permission to be deleted. I gave permission for the agent to never look at my writing.

My head is in my hands and I am super bummed. This might seem totally minor, but when you’ve seen as many agent rejections as I have, and you believe in yourself and your writing as much as I do, and you’ve put YEARS into just one story, this is pretty huge.

Ok, I’ve vented I’m letting it go.

Back to editing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 9:50 am

    It’s really weird they changed the rules after the process had already started…!

Leave a Reply

