Skip to content

Guilty…pleasure or pain

February 9, 2011

So I’m in the middle of reading this book, a novel which has won some of the highest honors in fiction and has received incredible critical acclaim and I could not wait to finally read it and yes, I loved the first chapter…but honestly, I’ve sort of lost all interest in it at this point. The unique writing style, the characters, the pace and setting…well, they’ve all just sort of the lost the magic they first held for me and maybe it was my fault for reading all the critical acclaim in the first few pages, but it’s gone and now I’m feeling super guilty for wanting to put it down and begin my latest Paul Auster book, a novel by my favorite author sitting unopened on my  bedside table and one I know will inspire my own writing (as always).

Should I let the self-inflicted guilt control me and struggle to finish my current book, or should I just move on and not look behind? 

It all seems pretty clear to me after writing it out. And I am PSYCHED to begin the Auster book tonight!

(Funny, that sentence in bold up there is what I ask myself all the time with regards to my current novel, which I am now more than 5 years into, and the constant question I ask myself:  do I put it away for good in order to beginning something new…or do I keep working on it? But it’s not the same as the book I’m reading, right? There’s no clear, easy answer and the responsibility – or guilt – I feel for my own novel is unparalleled.)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 9:48 am

    When I was younger, I made myself finish EVERYTHING… now I have a whole room full of To Be Read piles and I just can’t force myself to spend the time on something I’m not enjoying! 🙂

  2. March 1, 2013 11:24 pm

    Hi there! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.

    Does building a well-established blog like yours require a large amount of work?
    I am brand new to running a blog however I do write in my journal
    on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  3. March 1, 2013 11:53 pm

    When someone writes an paragraph he/she maintains the plan of a
    user in his/her brain that how a user can know it.
    So that’s why this piece of writing is great. Thanks!

  4. May 3, 2013 1:50 am

    Good site you have got here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours these days. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  5. June 27, 2013 2:14 pm

    This paragraph offers clear idea designed for the new people of blogging,
    that in fact how to do running a blog.

  6. July 2, 2013 5:19 am

    Helpful info. Fortunate me I found your site by chance, and I am shocked why this twist of
    fate did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  7. lose weight quickly diet plan permalink
    July 2, 2013 8:41 am

    Hello colleagues, how is everything, and what you desire to say regarding this piece of writing,
    in my view its actually amazing in favor of me.

  8. August 21, 2013 7:21 am

    Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to look it over.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Great blog and outstanding style and design.

  9. October 5, 2013 3:35 pm

    It’s nearly impossible to find knowledgeable people for this topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  10. September 19, 2014 9:04 pm

    Pretty! This has been a really wonderful article.
    Thanks for providing this info.

  11. November 26, 2014 10:10 am

    Building this type of unit is the best way for a home gardener to get a closet garden set up that perfectly fits
    into the space they have. If you are growing leafy plants, blue light regulates this growth.
    Good product kits will feature Xlamp high power LEDs, with
    at least 40 red ones and 16 blue ones, and a minimum power delivery of 100 watts
    with never a power consumption of more than 125 watts.

  12. February 22, 2015 7:09 pm

    Hi there everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this web page, and article
    is actually fruitful designed for me, keep up posting these types of
    content.

  13. March 13, 2015 4:50 am

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having troubles with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anyone else getting the same
    RSS problems? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  14. October 2, 2015 3:20 am

    This is also possible if they offer SEO as part of their service.
    Dream – Host is an online hosting company that offers products like domain registration, shared
    website hosting, Virtual Private Server (VPS), and public cloud services.
    These methods are extremely efficient, saving companies and employees time and money.

Leave a Reply

